If you have children or are responsible for their care, you certainly want to keep them as safe as possible when they are riding in the car and comply with Illinois law regarding car seats. These laws establish things like the direction children should face and the type of seat they should be in.
Unfortunately, children can suffer injuries in car accidents even if they are in the correct type of seat. In the event that your child has been hurt in a crash, you should contact an Edwardsville auto accident lawyer at Walton Telken Injury Attorneys as soon as possible. We will review the facts of your case at no cost to you and determine whether you have a claim.
Illinois Car Seat Rules
Illinois’ Child Passenger Protection Act sets out the requirements for car seats in the state and requires that children under eight be secured in an appropriate child restraint system. Furthermore, parents or guardians of children under eight are required to provide an appropriate child restraint system to anyone who transports their children.
- Children under two who weigh less than 40 pounds or are less than 40 inches tall must be transported in rear-facing child restraint systems
- An appropriate child restraint system means any device that meets United States Department of Transportation Standards
- Children who weigh more than 40 pounds may be transported in the back seat of vehicles wearing only a lap belt if the vehicle does not have rear shoulder belts
- Anyone transporting a child between 8 and 16 years old is responsible for securing that child in their seat belt
These laws are designed to keep children as safe as possible when they are in cars and trucks. To incentivize compliance, the state of Illinois subjects people who violate the law to penalties.
For a first offense, a person can be issued a $75 fine. In addition, for a first offense only, you can avoid a conviction by proving that you have an approved child restraint system and that you have completed a course on how to install them. For a second or subsequent violation, you can face a fine of $200.
Call Us Today to Speak with a St. Louis Injury Lawyer
If you or your child suffered injuries in a car accident, you should speak to an attorney as soon as you can. The experienced lawyers of Walton Telken Injury Attorneys work with injured victims throughout Southern Illinois. To schedule a free case evaluation, call our office today or send us a message through our online contact form.
FAQs About Car Accidents Involving Children
If my child was injured in an accident and was not properly restrained, can I still sue?
If the accident was not your fault, yes. In fact, Illinois law prohibits a person’s failure to secure a child under 8 in an approved child seat from being introduced as evidence in a civil action.
What should I do if my child was hurt in an accident?
If your child suffered injuries in an accident, you should contact a personal injury attorney as soon as you can.